top of page
Unknown Track - Unknown Artist
00:00 / 00:00

Interview Project

Artist's Statement: This was my first time conducting and editing an interview. I mostly let the interviewee direct the conversation and let him tell his stories. For editing, I mostly cut out unnecessary parts and long pauses/ummms.

Reading An Image

Updated: Dec 15, 2018



Artist: Eugene Richards ​ Peter’s Rock Church, Marianna, Arkansas, 2010

Analysis:

This image is a great example of depth of field. We have the dogs head very close to the camera and super blurred out in complete juxtaposition of the clarity within the rest of the image. This image seems to be taken in the late afternoon since the sun is pretty low. The stalks of the dandelions and the lettering on the grave are especially highlighted which helps the picture pop out at us. The broken church seems to be mostly in shadow as well as the grass under it.There is not a great deal of color in this photo however it is definitely not monotone. The almost clear blue sky makes for a great background of the image and I feel like in contrasts well to the light greenish/yellow color of the lettering on the grave as well as the dandelion stalks. The most prominent lines are those on the church. To me the lines lead my eyes to the broken clock tower and I notice myself focusing on a ray of light reflecting off the leftmost face of the tower. There is a lot to take in on this image and there does not seem to be one singular point of focus. The first time I saw the image I focused on the back ground at first but now I always focus on the middle ground, specifically the grave and flowers. However there is a lot to look at in each level: the church and bright blue sky in the back, the dandelions and grave in the middle, and the dog in front. The camera is pretty low to the ground since it is able to encompass the dogs head, but is a wide enough shot to take in a lot of subjects. One thing that caught my eye is that the borders of the image are not lined or cropped to parallel either the bottom of the church or grave. It does not balance to either. To me, the point of view seems to be from a person sitting in front of the grave. As for the meaning of the image, I feel like it represents decay. The broken down church, the grave, and the seemingly old flowers make me think of things breaking down and stopping to work. However this is completely the opposite with the vibrant and moving face of the dog. Possibly the image could be representing life and death at the same time. Even in a place of death and decay, there is a happy dog who looks like he is about to smudge up the camera lens.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page